融合法分析硅酸盐岩石

该应用演示了使用XRF确定硅酸盐岩石的化学成分。

背景

硅酸盐岩石的地球化学数据对现代岩石学至关重要。岩浆岩中的主要和微量成分的浓度提供很多关于岩石历史的信息,例如火山爆发或凝固、岩浆演化、岩浆成因和源材料以及岩相学分类。

用于分析硅酸盐岩石的X射线荧光光谱仪在过去几十年不断发展。XRF技术当前用作确定硅酸盐岩石主要元素的化学成分的标准分析法。

岩石分析的高精度要求需要融合法消除由于各种岩石组成矿物的样品异质性,例如晶粒尺寸和矿物学影响。由于熔解稀释大大减低了微量元素的灵敏性,主要使用传统的融合法用于测定硅酸盐岩石的主要元素。因此压制粉末法用于微量元素分析。由于它效率低且耗时,一个样品分析需要两个制备法,开发了低稀释融合法。低稀释融珠技术是一种提高微量元素灵敏度的方法,通过XRF能够准确可靠地确定微量元素的浓度以及主要元素测定。

需要该报告的一个PDF复印。


ZSX PrimusⅡ具有创新性的上照射式的光学配置。再也不用担心由于光束路径受污染或故障时间而导致样品室的维护。上照射式的光学配置消除了清洁的烦扰并增加了正常运行时间。 Read more...

Silicate Rock Analysis by Fusion Method

This note demonstrates advanced methods to determine the chemical composition in silicate rocks by XRF.

Background

Geochemical data set for silicate rocks are essential for modern petrology. Concentrations of major and trace component in igneous rock sample provide many kinds of information about rock history such as eruption or solidification, magma evolution, magma genesis and source materials as well as petrographical classification.

X-ray fluorescence spectrometry for silicate rock analysis has been developed for the last few decades. XRF technique is currently used as standard analytical method to determine the chemical composition of major elements in silicate rocks.

Rock analysis which demands high accuracy requires the fusion method to eliminate sample heterogeneity, such as grain size and mineralogical effect, owing to various rock-forming minerals. Conventional fusion method has been dominantly used for determination of major elements in silicate rock because dilution by flux significantly reduces sensitivities of trace elements. Pressed powder method is, therefore, applied to trace element analysis. Since it is not efficient and time-consuming that one sample analysis requires two preparation methods, the low dilution fusion method was developed. The low dilution fusion bead technique is a method to improve sensitivity of trace elements, which enables to determine the concentrations of trace elements accurately and reliably as well as major element determination by XRF.

Request a PDF copy of this report.


ZSX Primus II features an innovative optics-above configuration. Never again worry about a contaminated beam path or down time due to sample chamber maintenance. The optics-above geometry eliminates cleaning worries and increases up time. Read more...